25. Mai. 2018 | von Christopher Rudolf
As of today, it's official. The new privacy policies are in effect!
No one yet knows exactly what will happen: whether there will be mass cease-and-desist letters due to the use of web fonts, Facebook pixels or unauthorized use of CDNs, or due to failure to comply with information and disclosure obligations - no one knows how seriously the cease-and-desist offices will take it in the end. However, we have decided to play it safe and provide you with all the tools to help you meet the important legal requirements in your daily work without accidentally overlooking anything. You are free to use these tools, but we would like to strongly recommend them!
When you enter an appointment for a customer in the calendar, inform them that you are storing the data digitally! You can do this best by email by clicking on the customer file and selecting "Information obligation" in the top right. You can tell whether you have already done this by whether the flag still appears at the top. Or you can check under "Options": There you can see when and who performed the information obligation, possibly also verbally.
You are obligated to comply with this disclosure obligation! However, this is not always quite so simple. In this case, you or your employees can first document the information: Open the customer file and select "Request data disclosure" in the top right under Options. This will create an entry in Privacy Requests in the "Settings" section. Here you can download a PDF of the customer's data using the download link. Do you perhaps still have a third-party system? Mailchimp or similar? Then collect the data there as well, print it out or have the customer come pick it up by email.
Only when receipt has been confirmed should you set the status here to "Done".
Here too, you must comply with the deletion request. By selecting "Request data deletion" in the top right, the same thing happens as with the information request: a new entry in Privacy Requests. You can then perform all deletions in third-party systems and then set the status to "Done". Once the status change is complete, all of the customer's data in Belbo is deleted. By the way, your customers can also submit these requests online themselves. In this case, you will also be notified at your privacy email address.
That's it for now! You'll find out soon what changes for you in the marketing functions area!
Get in touch with us if you have any questions or would like to take a closer look at Belbo.
Melden Sie sich bei uns, wenn Sie nähere Informationen wünschen!